Area Profile

Lanark and Hamilton East Constituency

Lanark and Hamilton East was created as a result of the Fifth Periodical Report of the Boundary Commission for Scotland (2005) which reduced the number of Scottish constituencies from 72 to 57. The Constituency is made up of 10 Wards from within the South Lanarkshire Council boundaries, each with 3 or 4 Local Councillors elected under a system of proportional representation called STV (Single Transferable Vote).

Situated in the central belt of Scotland it has good transport links to both Glasgow and Edinburgh. Straddling the upper reaches of the River Clyde, and extending into the Southern Uplands the constituency has areas of outstanding countryside and great historical connections. It encompasses a diverse mix of urban and rural environments.

The major urban settlements lie in the north of the area and include Hamilton, Bothwell and Uddingston. The rural area includes former market towns such as Lanark and former mining settlements such as Forth and Carluke.Unlike the northern part of the county of Lanarkshire, the south was never industrialised and the area is liberally dotted with scenic walks and nature trails amidst some of the dramatic scenery in Lowland Scotland.

Bothwell Castle

Popular historical attractions include Bothwell Castle, Scotlands finest 13th century fortification and Hamilton’s Chatelherault Country Park which has as its centrepiece the magnificent 18th century hunting lodge of the Dukes of Hamilton.

The famous UNESCO World Heritage Site in New Lanark lies on the banks of the River Clyde near to the Falls of Clyde. This 18th Century cotton mill first built by pioneering social reformer Robert Owen has been beautifully restored and features an award-winning visitor centre whose interactive displays and rides really brings history to life.